Stephanie Talks Fashion

My Thoughts, Tips, and Experiences in Fashion

DIY – Beaded Sandals

Last weekend the beaded flip flops I wear all the time in the summer, finally gave out and broke. I knew that I was going to have to replace them soon because the soles were wearing a little thin, but I was hoping to get through the rest of the summer.
No such luck.

white-flip-flops

 

So instead of buying new sandals (partially because the store I bought them from, Accessorize, is no longer in North America) I decided I would DIY my own. So I bought some super cheap ($2) flip flops, ribbon, chain, and different beads.

 

ribbon-flip-flops

 

The first step was to wrap the flip flops in the ribbon. Because there is nothing worse than cheap plastic flip flops rubbing your feet raw. The ribbon also dressed up the sandals to make them look a little fancier.

beaded-flip-flops

 

 

 

Next I sewed the beads and the chain on. I did them at the same time to save time and energy. The plastic on the sandals was a little challenging to get through, so there was no way I was going to do twice the work.

 

I think they turned out really great, and can’t wait to get started on a second pair!

~Stephanie

 

If you want to do your own beaded flip flops, here’s a few tips:

  • Use a heavy, or plastic thread to sew the beads on, it’ll last longer.
  • Use a thick but sharp needle. The plastic can be pretty hard to get through. I had to use the floor to help push the needle through.
  • Use a glue gun to glue the ends of the ribbon to the sandals. You’ll be sewing the ribbon down when you put the beads on, the glue will just help hold the ribbon in place while you work on them.
  • Layout your design before you start. That way you’ll know how much space you’ve got to work with.
  • Don’t bead all the way to the end. There’s a portion of the sandal that flip over, and no one will really see the beads there.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 23, 2013 by in DIY and tagged , , , , , .
